> SKIP INTRO

Wine Cellar

Wine Cellar

Title

The place where wine becomes art

The cellar is the place where Walter and Joachim use their decades-long experiences to give the individuality and signature to their wines. The wine artists put special emphasis on unfolding the individual character of their wines and on expressing the vineyard specific flavour as well as making them a pleasure to drink.

Therefore patience, the attention to detail and a special experienced feeling are essential.

Grape processing

After selective handpicking the grapes are transported to the wine estate immediately in order to become cooled. The gentle processing takes place at 10 °C in an oxygen free environment for preventing oxidation of flavours. The following time of maceration (the time of contact of juice and flavourrich grape skins) is chosen according to the grape material and lasts between 4 and 24 hours. The exact time of pressing is evaluated by tasting the juice. With the following gentle pressing of the grapes, juice runs into the cellar only with the help of gravity.

After sedimentation (the natural settling of grape pulp, where only clear juice remains), the juice (grape must) is taken to fermentation. Fermentation takes place under cooled conditions for expressing a maximum of flavours in the wine.

Winemaking

The winemaking has a crucial impact on a wine’s fruit and terroir development. Although the grapes become equipped with their whole flavour potential in the vineyard, it is in the cellar where the special flavours and the wine fruit gets shaped with the necessary experiences and Know-How.

The development of fruity Classique wines takes place in stainless steel tanks, while storage on the lees in large, neutral oak casks (3,000 litres) and small oak barrels (225 l) points out the minerality of soft and is on yeast storage in big wood (3,000 litres) and oak barrels, where wine’s smooth and tender taste comes out. During the development in oaks the wine flavour gets supported by a special roasted flavour of the wood.

Contact Info

Kontakt Weingut – EN
  • SKOFF ORIGINAL - Walter Skoff
    Eckberg 16, A-8462 Gamlitz
  • T: +43(0) 3453/42 43
  • Opening times office/vinothek
    Monday until Friday: 8:00 - 12:00 and 13:00 - 18:00.
    Saturday: 10:00 - 18:00.
    Sunday and Holiday: 9:00 - 16:00.

> SKIP INTRO

Der Weinkeller

Der Weinkeller

Titel

Der Ort, wo Wein zur Kunst wird

Für Walter Skoff ist es besonders wichtig, dass die Weine ihren eigenen Charakter und ihre Persönlichkeit entwickeln. Jeder Wein soll seine besondere Eigenschaft zum Ausdruck bringen und ein Meisterstück werden

Hierfür sind Geduld, die Liebe zum Detail und vor allem das Wissen und die Erfahrung das Wesentliche.

Traubenverarbeitung

Nach der selektiven Handlese werden die Trauben unverzüglich zum Weingut gebracht und gekühlt. Die schonende Verarbeitung erfolgt bei 10 °C unter Ausschluss von Sauerstoff, um die Oxidation von Aromastoffen zu verhindern. Die nachfolgende Maischezeit (Kontaktzeit zwischen Saft und den aromastoffreichen Beerenschalen) wird auf das jeweilige Traubenmaterial individuell abgestimmt und beträgt zwischen 4 und 24 Stunden. Der genaue Zeitpunkt, wann die Trauben gepresst werden können, wird alleine durch das Kosten des Saftes bestimmt.

Nach schonender Pressung fließt der Traubensaft (nur durch die Schwerkraft) in den Keller. Nach der Sedimentation (natürliches Absetzen der Trubstoffe – es bleibt klarer Saft zurück) wird der Saft (Traubenmost) zur Gärung gebracht. Die Vergärung der Weine erfolgt unter gekühlten Bedingungen, um ein Maximum an Aromastoffen im Wein auszuprägen.

Vinifikation

Die Vinifikation hat einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Frucht- und Terroirentwicklung der Weine. Die Trauben werden im Weingarten zwar bereits mit dem gesamten Aromapotenzial ausgestattet, jedoch erst im Keller formt und erarbeitet man die besonderen Aromen des Weines durch Know-How und Erfahrung.

Während beim Ausbau der Weine in Edelstahltanks sehr fruchtbetonte Classique-Weine entstehen, streicht die Lagerung auf der Hefe in großen Holzfässern (3.000 Liter) und Barriques die Mineralität weicher und schmelziger Weine mit großem Lagerungspotenzial heraus. Beim Ausbau in Barrique-Fässern wird zusätzlich das Weinaroma durch die Röstaromen unterstützt und strukturiert.

Kontakt Info

Kontakt Weingut
  • SKOFF ORIGINAL - Walter Skoff
    Eckberg 16, A-8462 Gamlitz
  • T: +43(0) 3453/42 43
  • Öffnungszeiten Büro/Vinothek
    Montag bis Freitag: 8 Uhr bis 12 Uhr und 13 Uhr bis 18 Uhr.
    Samstag: 10 Uhr bis 18 Uhr.
    Sonntag und Feiertag: 9 Uhr bis 16 Uhr